3/27/15 – Trying Out Impasto

Micko Vic left me curious about the impasto + acrylic technique. So I thought I would try it out.

It’s definitely fun to play around with the texture the acrylic gel provides. I am so happy to find a way to get that “bulky” effect on my paintings without going through signficant amounts of acrylic paint.

Some take-aways:

-You can’t just go into the art store asking for “impasto.” “Impasto” is mostly used for the technique itself. “Acrylic polymer” or “acrylic medium gel” will get you farther.

-It is not as manageable as I thought (on the canvas). Maybe if I would have gone with a heavier gel I would have been able to mold more. I think it depends on what you are looking for.

This is my first time painting with both acrylic polymer and palette knifes. I love it.

I think I have a good base to work with but I will certainly add to it. This is a good background to start with for me. Here are some images of the progress/texture:

Impasto texture up close
Impasto texture up close
painting w/ palette knives
painting w/ palette knives
Leave a Reply

